Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
5

Monday Masterclass: Ozone Therapy

How I use it and why
5

Outline: Ozone

  • What it is

  • How it works medically

  • How it's used medically

  • Local versus systemic

  • When should we use it?

  • Localized problems

    • Joints

    • Organs and soft tissues

    • Systemic problems

    • With UVBI

  • Robert Rowen, MD

    • Dr. Rowen's YouTube channel

    • https://www.youtube.com/@RobertRowenMD

  • Frank Shallenberger, MD

    • Great interview with Dr. Shallenberger:

Unedited transcript below

Unknown Speaker 0:02

Hello everyone, Dr. Stillman here for our first Monday masterclass, please let me know how you like the new format and the new content in the comments. These masterclasses are, I think sometimes going to be only available here on the substack, particularly if they contain information that would get censored on other platforms. So make sure that you're subscribed. And if you find this compelling, feel free to share it to other people, because obviously, I'm not able to put it out always to Facebook and YouTube. And today's topic is one that's pretty hot. And that means it's definitely ripe for censorship, and that's ozone, specifically medical ozone. So the of all the questions I asked my paid subscribers, they wanted to hear about the number one thing that they wanted to hear about this week in the masterclass and if you would like to vote on what topic I do on Mondays, or suggest what topic I do on Mondays and it's most Mondays like next Monday, it will not be in the office slash doing the substantive recording.

Unknown Speaker 0:59

If you want to vote on those or have input on which ones which topics we we cover, and there's also a q&a after this for the paid subscribers. If you want to ask me any old question, that's where the q&a after then upgrade, and you'll be able to both suggest topics and then vote on them. So ozone, what is ozone, ozone is three molecules or atoms of oxygen all put together. Ozone is a highly oxidative unstable compound, it tends to react with an oxidized anything that comes into contact with that makes ozone one of the top air pollutants worldwide. You might wonder why an air pollutant has potential therapeutic value. For example, if you if you breathe in too much ozone will really damage your lungs. And it will actually, over time continue to contribute to lung diseases like skin, lung cancer, or potentially chronic lung diseases like interstitial lung disease or COPD. But what's funny about ozone is that when you introduce it to the blood, and then through the blood to the rest of the body, you actually have some pretty profound and remarkable therapeutic effects. And I don't know all the ins and outs of introducing ozone to the body. There are lots of different things that people will do from inflating it into the ear to inflating it into the nose without putting it in the lung. You can do it injections and soft tissue organs. You can do 10 paths and extracorporeal

Unknown Speaker 2:28

ozonation of blood. I'll get into some of that later in terms of how I recommend using it and how I refer for it because I don't use ozone therapy. I'll explain why. I don't use those in therapy personally or in my practice later on as well. So that's what ozone is. How does ozone work in the body? This is a really interesting topic I've read Bochy is like the I can't remember his first name is an Italian, he's passed on now. But he wrote this book on medical ozone that I think is probably the single best work on the topic, as far as authoritative and comprehensive scientific works go on ozone. And he wrote it and edited it for years, and was the world's leading expert on ozone. Now, he was the world's academic expert, from what I can tell, wrote the most papers published the most studies, etc. He ended up though, passing the baton so to speak to guys in the United States, like Rob Rowan and Frank Shallenberger, who are the two MDS who are best known for their work in ozone. There's lots of other people doing work in this area, there's probably ozone, ozone clinic somewhere near you. And that's part of why I want to talk about it today, because it's a really handy thing to be able to access. So ozone in the body, because it's a pro oxidant will destroy a lot of things. Notably, viruses, bacteria, and fungi. This led a lot of procedure lists, dentists, surgeons, other people have those, you know, intervening on the body, which I don't really I don't really do that I don't I don't stick needles in people, I don't cut people open. I'm much too sensitive for all that, to be completely honest with you.

Unknown Speaker 4:12

But those guys saw the therapeutic value of this because they said, Wow, we could introduce this into the body in some way or various different ways we can get healing reactions and eliminate bad things. So they started to do that. And they got really remarkable results.

Unknown Speaker 4:25

Now, why did they get remarkable results? This goes back to how ozone works in the body. It seems to activate a lot of antioxidant pathways and mechanisms. It seems to change oxygenation in the cell. And I'm not here to give you a masterclass on the biochemistry of ozone because I find it very strange, frankly. And that's really a better topic for a textbook from a guy like Bochy, but having read his book, and thought a lot about ozone and spoke.

Unknown Speaker 5:00

given to some of the leaders in this field, I wanted to tell you guys about how I use ozone and why and when I think it's a really handy therapy.

Unknown Speaker 5:09

So number one.

Unknown Speaker 5:12

And again, I'm not going to get too much into specifics of how it's introduced to the body, but I look at ozone as something that we can use either locally or systemically. Okay, so many therapeutics fall into this category, particularly anything that's injected into the body. When ozone is used systemically, it's generally infused back into the body in blood, often with UV blood irradiation.

Unknown Speaker 5:39

For a moment, let's stop and think about why irradiating the blood with UV light might be helpful therapeutically, we know that UV light is essential for health. You know, I talk a lot about vitamin D, I talk a lot about how sun exposure is good for people. The sad fact is that a lot of people are paying extra for UVI while they spend their entire life indoors.

Unknown Speaker 6:00

And that's really about the level of ignorance in the general public about how powerfully healing the sun is. If you've catch somebody raving about how good UV BI is UV pladur radiation is with ozone, who's pale as a ghost, and lives in a place where US is living or talking in a season when the sun is out and is abundant. That's someone who doesn't understand how important UV light is for their overall health and wellness. And I'll come back to why that's really important later in this video.

Unknown Speaker 6:31

So local problems often respond really well to ozone,

Unknown Speaker 6:37

arthritis, and different joints may respond really well to ozone that's called prolozone. Generally speaking,

Unknown Speaker 6:44

lots of well, I'm going to I'm going to give you an example, because I don't want to speak for people who are using ozone in local areas of the body. Like for all I know, there's somebody out there who's doing, you know, infrarenal injections of ozone. For what reason I cannot, I can only guess. But the most impressive case of local use of ozone and a soft tissue that I'm aware of is a is a testimonial on Rob Rowan's YouTube channel. And if you want to really get an idea for what ozone can do for people going to rob Rowan's YouTube channel and checking out the videos is going to be very worth your while. If I was contemplating doing any kind of ozone, I would go to his YouTube channel and I would binge watch the videos to get some idea of what it's used for, how it goes, what kind of results people get, and so on and so forth. But this testimonial guy came to Dr. Rowan, who had such bad urinary retention, which means he couldn't urinate that he had to have a catheter placed into his bladder. And if you're not familiar with the catheterization process, for a man, it means sneaking a giant tube of latex up the pipe to the bladder. And it is excruciatingly painful. So I'm told, thank God, I've never experienced it.

Unknown Speaker 8:03

This guy was able to clear his urinary retention and live without a catheter after one or two injections of ozone.

Unknown Speaker 8:12

And that's one of the things that got my attention about ozone.

Unknown Speaker 8:16

I didn't just hear this from, you know, one person, I've not only worked with a number of physicians and other practitioners who use ozone, I've spoken to guys like Robert Allen, my own family members have had ozone therapy. And so what you'll find is that people will get really, really great results with ozone with a variety of different local administrations, like I said, arthritis is probably the most common but soft tissues like the prostate can be amenable to interventions with ozone. And to reiterate, I can only imagine what other people are doing with it. And I will let them tell you about what they're doing and how well it works. I just know that for all kinds of inflammatory and chronic disease processes in the body, if you can reach it with a needle, you can probably potentially get a really good result with ozone. I'll just give you sort of a theoretical example. Right? Let's say that tomorrow, I found out that I had some kind of cancer in some kind of soft tissue in the body that can be reached with ozone, I would absolutely book a call or book a concert with a guy like Rob Rowan or Frank Shallenberger. Or I would ask them for a referral to somebody more local to me that they trained and who they trusted as an operator. Because, you know, injecting the body, particularly delicate, sensitive points. You want to make sure you're with somebody who's doing high volume of those procedures so that they have skill, and they have practice. You don't want to be the only case of something that someone's doing in a year unless you really can't get your care any other way. So I would I would ask them and I would I would think about it, because injecting that area with ozone might be really beneficial and give you a really good result.

Unknown Speaker 9:51

And this is why I am not putting this out on YouTube and Facebook. This is the kind of information that a gets censored B is very controversial.

Unknown Speaker 10:00

And to be honest with you, the reason it's controversial is that there's not a lot of research on the use of ozone in chronic diseases of the body, at least at the scale that my colleagues want in order to endorse a therapy. Um, but anecdotally, the the benefits are undoubtedly there. And that makes me loath to not talk about it as a really powerful therapeutic intervention for people. Like I said, if I had a serious problem that was local and a local tissue that can be reached with a needle, I would think about incorporating ozone therapy into my treatment protocol.

Unknown Speaker 10:34

So that's local therapy, from my perspective, and if any of that's not clear, please ask questions in the comments. And I'm happy to clarify that in either future posts or another video.

Unknown Speaker 10:43

So the second option is systemic. What do I mean by systemic systemic is where you're infusing the usually it's an ear infusing blood, it's an ozonated back into the body.

Unknown Speaker 10:52

And this has regenerative and

Unknown Speaker 10:56

therapeutic effects all over the body, sort of indiscriminately. Now, the tough thing about this right is that we don't know where that benefit is going to be.

Unknown Speaker 11:06

We just see clinically a lot of people improving after

Unknown Speaker 11:10

after ozone therapy.

Unknown Speaker 11:12

And what I have seen with ozone is that a lot of people latch on to it as the thing they're going to do for their when this is true of the local stuff like back pain or knee pain in it or or their chronic Lyme disease or their chronic mold toxicity or their chronic this that the other thing. And I've certainly seen patients derive benefit from it. But what I found, as I practice more and more is that the people who wanted ozone therapy, the most were generally speaking, chronically ill for a host of reasons completely aside from their, you know, I mean, they didn't have like ozone deficiency, right, there was other reasons for them to be sick. And oftentimes, they didn't want to change their diet and their lifestyle, or they weren't being informed that that was important anyway, in order to really address the underlying causes of their medical problems. Let me give you an example.

Unknown Speaker 12:10

Somebody gets to handed a diagnosis of chronic Lyme disease by someone, they do a bunch of testing that shows they have Lyme. Lyme disease testing is an absolute quagmire of really bad lab methodologies and flawed thinking, which is a topic for another day, if you want me to do a post on that, let me know and I'll I'll post something on that.

Unknown Speaker 12:33

But let's say that they latch on to ozone is the thing they want to they want to fix their Lyme disease,

Unknown Speaker 12:39

they then go in for ozone, they get a good result, they get a bad result, whatever may happen happens. But all along the way, they've been ignoring other fundamental contributors to their to their illness. And then they ultimately no matter what happens with the ozone wind up back in the same place that they started, I see that happening over and over and over again. And then somebody like that will come to me, we'll do basic fundamental stuff, like getting them outside and getting them to eat protein and getting them to fix their breath work and their breathing mechanics and their ribcage, pelvis position, and, you know, get their exercise protocol dialed in, and, you know, fix their gut with various things to balance out the microbiome. And I mean, the laundry list of things that I can do for somebody before I reach for ozone. And this is why I don't have a brick and mortar. This is why I'm not doing ozone therapy. Currently, if I had a big enough staff and enough patients that I thought would benefit, I would absolutely incorporate it into my practice. But the vast majority of you need someone to help walk you through all the fundamentals before you start playing with ozone. Now, that's not to say that if you're in a bad place, and you want to get out of it quick ozone is not the answer. It might be. But like I said,

Unknown Speaker 14:01

people will do the ozone and not fix the underlying problems with their diet and their lifestyle, how they're living in general. And then they'll get a fleeting response. This creates a cadre shall we say, of kind of ozone junkies, people who kind of are used to this, like six months to a year tune up of ozone. And there's nothing I think morally wrong with getting ozone every once in a while.

Unknown Speaker 14:29

But I really want you all to be as healthy as possible, from top to bottom in a very holistic, comprehensive way. And that means dialing in everything, not just going in for ozone every six months for a little tune up, shall we say. So that's the bottom line with ozone. Again, to be really clear, I refer out for it when somebody's got a problem that I think is going to respond to it. Well, that can be practically anything and

Unknown Speaker 15:00

That might sound like kind of a cop out, like I haven't done my research into what it's good for or not. In all honesty, if you look into this, you'll find that people with chronic fatigue, allergies, autoimmune diseases, neurological complaints, headaches, depression, joint pain, muscle aches and pains, I mean, weight problems, we'll see benefits from ozone therapy. And this goes back to how it fundamentally works, which is it engages antioxidant and regenerative systems within the body in order to improve cellular mitochondrial function. And even guys like Bochy, the Dean of ozone research, at the time of his passing, would frankly, admit that they weren't really sure exactly how the ozone was affecting the body in a positive way, they just knew that it did. And so I will use it in local or systemic cases, when I think there's a significant benefit. And when I think there's nothing else that the patient should be spending their money on instead of that, because the other thing I will tell you that tends to happen with ozone

Unknown Speaker 16:08

is that people will wind up going to nose and clinic, not just doing ozone, but getting a ton of supplements that they may or may not need.

Unknown Speaker 16:17

And then not having a really great experience with the follow up at that clinic because that clinic is so busy, because most functional medicine doctors and integrative medicine, doctors today are absolutely swamped. And that leaves a lot of people sort of speak in the wind. As far as having someone who they can ask questions about, well, should I keep taking this supplement or that supplement? Or do I really need all these supplements? Or, you know, could I have a metaphor maybe from another supplement or a different supplement protocol? And what sort of lab testing should we do on top of this, and this is, of course, why we're launching annual plans here, which you're going to hear more about in the coming weeks.

Unknown Speaker 16:51

We basically designed these I designed these so that I can oversee a lot of cases through nurse practitioners and PAs and my lovely nurse Michelle as well. And I can basically give you guys the benefit of what would previously have been one on one consults with me through my staff, which will enable me to take care of more people and also will reduce the cost for all of you, which is great. So if you want more information about the annual plans again, stay subscribed. If you have questions about this, post them in the comments and I look forward to the members only q&a at 330 this afternoon. Again, let me know your thoughts and feedback on the masterclasses and I look forward to answering your comments and questions. Take care everyone have a great day.

Transcribed by https://otter.ai

5 Comments
Dr. Stillman Uncensored
Authors
Leland Stillman, MD